Holy Rosary School

Holy Rosary School

This project has been successfully completed!

Donation Barometer

Classroom construction at the Holy Rosary School in Purul/Manipur

In the far north-east of India lies the state of Manipur, bordering Myanmar. The state is characterized by the high mountains and stony rocks. The few main roads through the mountains are sometimes closed for a few days or weeks due to rock erosion and descents. Due to the uneven roads and mountain passes, the driving speed is max. 20 km/h. 22 km away from the National Highway 2 and the city of Mao is the Holy Rosary School in the village of Purul. Almost 400 children from the surrounding villages attend this school. The adjoining hostel accommodates about 40 children.

The school is located on a hill on the outskirts of the village, which is very high in the mountains. The clouds are palpable. Two large churches, built in recent years, dominate the villagescape. Almost all inhabitants are Christians (40% Catholics, 60% Baptists), as is typical for the rural areas of Manipur. The village is located at the end of a mountain valley, so it is bordered by the mountains. The nearest town and shopping facilities are 22 km away.

Project history and equipment

The Holy Rosary School was founded in 1988 by the Catholic Order Francis de Sales. 2 priests and 4 sisters work at the school with an attached infirmary. Other temporary teachers live in the village. The school consists of three buildings, one of which is completely dilapidated. Due to increasing numbers of students, there has been a shortage of space for a long time. A mini-hydro station was built next to the school in 2010/11 to generate electricity. In addition, a computer room with 5 PCs was set up at the time, from which there is an Internet connection.

In addition to the musical-sporting area (dance, basketball), the school's focus is also on the fact that there have been no drop-outs for years and that the school regularly occupies a leading position in Manipur's school ranking. However, as is usually the case in India, the teaching methods are characterized by the repetition and memorization of subject matter and the very little self-development.

Project Funding

Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. sends ASA volunteers to the school, which is intended to promote the students' self-initiative through lessons and village development projects. The funding project includes the construction of new classrooms in a modular system. Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. promotes the purchase of building materials for the construction of individual classrooms. The area for construction is prepared for this. At the beginning of 2016, the first construction cargo was procured. To do this, the building material has to be transported over about 300 km from Assam over the bumpy and mountainous roads of Nagaland and Manipur. A truck is on the road for several days, as it hardly moves faster than walking pace.

In total, the school wants to build 10 new classrooms. Most of it is done on their own by the population, who are very experienced in the construction of large buildings (see church construction) and carry out the work very professionally. The Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. initially supports the construction of the first two classrooms.

Costs for classroom construction:
8.000 – 9.000 Euro

Project partner in India:
FAsCE India, Purul (Manipur)
There is the possibility of a school partnership

Cooperation partners in Germany:
Niendorf District School, Student Partnership Group, Hamburg

Start typing and press Enter to search

Holy Rosary School

Dieses Projekt wurde erfolgreich abgeschlossen!

Spenden-Barometer

  • Bereits gespendet
  • Offene Spenden

Klassenraumbau an der Holy Rosary Schule in Purul/Manipur

Im weitesten Nord-Osten Indiens liegt der Bundesstaat Manipur, angrenzend an Myanmar. Der Bundesstaat wird durch die hohen Berge und steinigen Felsen geprägt. Die wenigen Hauptverkehrsstraßen durch das Gebirge sind manchmal aufgrund von Felserosionen und -abgängen für einige Tage oder Wochen gesperrt. Die Fahrgeschwindigkeit liegt aufgrund der unebenen Straßen und Bergpässe bei max. 20 km/h. 22 km entfernt von der Nationalen Bundesstraße 2 und der Stadt Mao liegt die Holy Rosary Schule im Dorf Purul. Fast 400 Kinder aus den umliegenden Dörfern besuchen diese Schule. Im angrenzendes Hostel finden etwa 40 Kinder eine Unterkunft.

Die Schule befindet sich auf einem Hügel am Rande des Dorfes, das sehr hoch in den Bergen liegt. Die Wolken sind greifbar. Zwei große Kirchen, die in den letzten Jahren erbaut wurden, dominieren das Dorfbild. Fast alle Einwohner sind Christen (40% Katholiken, 60 % Baptisten), wie es für die ländlichen Bereich Manipurs typisch ist. Das Dorf liegt am Ende eines Bergtales, sodass es durch das Gebirge eingegrenzt wird. Die nächstgelegene Stadt und Einkaufsmöglichkeit ist 22 km entfernt.

Projekt-Geschichte und Ausstattung

Die Holy Rosary Schule wurde 1988 durch den katholischen Orden Francis de Sales gegründet. 2 Priester und 4 Schwestern sind an der Schule mit angeschlossener Krankenstation tätig. Weitere Lehrkräfte zur Aushilfe wohnen im Dorf. Die Schule besteht aus drei Gebäuden, wovon ein Gebäude völlig marode ist. Aufgrund steigender Schülerzahlen gibt es seit langem Platznot. Eine Mini-Hydro-Station wurde zur Stromgewinnung neben der Schule im Jahre 2010/11 errichtet. Ferner wurde zu der Zeit ein Computerraum mit 5 PCs eingerichtet, von dem aus eine Internetverbindung besteht.

Schwerpunkte der Schule liegen neben dem musikalisch-sportlichen Bereich (Tanz, Basketball) auch darin, dass es seit Jahren keine Drop-outs mehr gibt und die Schule im Schulranking Manipurs regelmäßig eine führende Position einnimmt. Die Lehrmethoden sind jedoch, wie in Indien die Regel, durch das Nachsprechen und Auswendiglernen von Unterrichtsstoff und dem sehr geringen Selbsterarbeiten geprägt.

Projektförderung

Die Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. entsendet an die Schule ASA-Freiwillige, die durch Unterricht und Dorfentwicklungsprojekte die Selbstinitiative der Schüler fördern soll. Das Förderprojekt umfasst den Neubau von Klassenräumen im Baukastensystem. Die Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. fördert die Anschaffung von Baumaterialien zur Errichtung einzelner Klassenräume. Die Fläche für den Bau ist dazu vorbereitet. Anfang 2016 konnte erste Bauladung beschafft werden. Dazu muss das Baumaterial über etwa 300 km von Assam aus über die holprigen und bergigen Straßen Nagalands und Manipurs transportiert werden. Mehrere Tage ist ein LKW unterwegs, da er kaum schneller als in Schrittgeschwindigkeit vorankommt.

Insgesamt möchte die Schule 10 neue Klassenräume bauen. Das Meiste geschieht in Eigenregie durch die Bevölkerung, die im Bau von großen Gebäuden (siehe Kirchenbau) sehr erprobt sind und die Arbeiten sehr professionell durchführen. Die Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V. fördert zunächst den Bau der ersten beiden Klassenräume.

Kosten für den Klassenraum-Bau:
8.000 – 9.000 Euro

Projektpartner in Indien:
FAsCE India, Purul (Manipur)
Es besteht die Möglichkeit einer Schul-Partnerschaft

Kooperationspartner in Deutschland:
Stadtteilschule Niendorf, Schüler-Partnerschaftsgruppe, Hamburg

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search