Support this project

Support the reforestation and self-help program in Assam now!

Support this project

Reforestation and self-help program for Adivasi (Assam/India)

In Jiagabhuro (Sonitpur District) live about 2,000-3,000 inhabitants. The huts and small houses are often widely spread out on the edge of a jungle-like area. On the only thoroughfare are a few small kiosks and a communication shop. There are some Hindu shrines and four small churches, including the Episcopal Church of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the Himalayan countries.

Most residents are daily wage workers and live below the poverty line. There is work in the fields and in the tea plantations. Due to a military base in the neighboring village (Misamari), some people find work there, many commit themselves to military service. Due to the tense security situation in the state of Assam, the military base in this region offers some protection from insurgents and militias.

New Tarajuli is about 25km from Jiaghaburo. It is located on the edge of a large plantation of the world-famous Assam tea. About 100 people work on the private small tea plantations around the large plantation, mostly as day labourers or people who run their mini-plant as a family "business".

Uttar Nowgaon is a village of almost 200 inhabitants and is located about two hours away from Jiaghaburo in the north of Assam. Here live families who run a common village-owned tea plantation, which is located on the land of the local parish.

Donation Barometer

Project history and equipment

Many inhabitants are unemployed, some do not have a real roof over their heads, but only corrugated iron over bamboo sticks woven together. In all three villages there are state and partly private schools, which can be reached on foot. The children are preferably sent to private schools, as the state schools do not function well. The reforestation and self-help programme will:

– planted in the front gardens of about 200 families and on the edge of private tea plantations a variety of trees. Coconut palms, betel nut, bananas and lemon trees complement the biodiversity and ecological balance in a region that has experienced radical deforestation for decades.

– The fruits of the trees serve the food security of the disadvantaged Adivasi families. Income is generated by selling the fruit at the nearby market. School fees can be paid.

The reforestation programme promotes sustainable development goals in the field of nature conservation / climate protection and the participation of disadvantaged groups. Adivasi families earn income from the sale of their cultivated fruit, which is available for the education of their children. Good educational conditions are available at private schools in the immediate vicinity.

Project Funding

This special programme of reforestation of regional trees and perennials to provide food security for Adivasi families and to protect the environment and climate represents better living conditions for over 200 Adivasi families and their surroundings.

Become a project partner!

With your donation we can make a difference!

Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V.

IBAN: DE16 2135 2240 0179 2512 10
BIC: NOLADE21HOL
Sparkasse Holstein
Use: reforestation

Charity-SMS
Keyword"Gib9 Mandelzweig“
Send to Number: 81190

Costs for the reforestation program:
Rbs 212.750 (ca. 2.300 Euro)

Project partner in India:
AELC, Jiagabhuro (Assam)

Cooperation partners in Germany:
Zentrum für Mission und Ökumene – Nordkirche Weltweit, Hamburg

Start typing and press Enter to search

Dieses Projekt fördern

Aufforstung- und Selbsthilfe-Programm für Adivasi (Assam/Indien)

In Jiagabhuro (Sonitpur District) leben rund 2.000-3.000 Einwohner. Die Hütten und kleinen Häuser liegen oft weit verteilt am Rande eines dschungelartigem Gebiet. An der einzigen Durchgangsstraße sind ein paar kleine Kioske und ein Kommunikations-Laden angesiedelt. Einige hinduistische Schreine und vier kleine Kirchen gibt es, darunter auch die Bischofskirche der ev.-lutherischen Kirche in den Himalaya-Staaten.

Die meisten Bewohner sind Tageslohnarbeiter und leben unter der Armutsgrenze. Arbeit gibt es auf den Feldern und in den Teeplantagen. Aufgrund eines Militärstandortes in der Nachbarortschaft (Misamari), finden einige Menschen dort Arbeit, viele verpflichten sich zum Militärdienst. Aufgrund der angespannten Sicherheitslage im Bundesstaat Assam bietet der Militärstandort in dieser Region gewissen Schutz vor Aufständigen und Milizen.

New Tarajuli ist etwa 25km von Jiaghaburo entfernt. Es liegt am Rande einer Großplantage des weltweit beliebten Assam-Tees. Auf den privaten kleinen Teeplantagen um die Großplantage herum arbeiten etwa 100 Menschen, meist als Tagelöhner oder Menschen, die als Familien“betrieb“ ihre Mini-Anlage betreiben.

Uttar Nowgaon ist ein Dorf mit fast 200 Einwohnern und liegt etwa zwei Stunden entfernt von Jiaghaburo im Norden von Assam. Hier leben Familien, die eine gemeinsame dorfeigene Teeplantage betreiben, die auf dem Land der örtlichen Kirchengemeinde angesiedelt ist.

Spenden-Barometer

  • Bereits gespendet
  • Offene Spenden

Projekt-Geschichte und Ausstattung

Viele Einwohner sind arbeitslos, manche besitzen kein richtiges Dach über dem Kopf, sondern nur ein Wellblech über zusammengeflochtenen Bambusstäben. In allen drei Dörfern gibt es staatliche und teilweise private Schulen, die zu Fuß erreicht werden  können. Die Kinder werden bevorzugt auf die privaten Schulen geschickt, da die staatlichen Schulen nicht gut funktionieren. Mit dem Aufforstungs- und Selbsthilfeprogramm werden:

– in den Vorgärten von etwa 200 Familien und am Rande der privaten Teeplantagen eine Vielfalt an Bäumen gepflanzt. Kokusnuss-Palmen, Betelnuss, Bananen und Lemon-Bäume ergänzen die Biodiversität und ökologische Gleichgewicht in einer Region, die über Jahrzehnte eine inzwischen gebremste radikale Abholzung erlebt hat.

– Die Früchte der Bäume dienen zur Nahrungsmittelsicherheit der benachteiligten Adivasi-Familien. Einkommen wird durch den Verkauf der Früchte auf dem nahegelegenen Markt generiert. Schulgebühren können bezahlt werden.

Mit dem Aufforstungsprogramm werden Nachhaltige Entwicklungsziele im Bereich Naturschutz / Klimaschutz und Beteiligung benachteiligter Gruppen forciert. Adivasi-Familien erwirtschaften durch den Verkauf ihrer angebauten Früchte Einkommen, das zur Ausbildung ihrer Kinder zur Verfügung steht. Gute Bildungsbedingungen sind an privaten Schulen im direkten Umfeld zugänglich.

Projektförderung

Dieses Sonderprogramm der Wiederaufforstung von regionalen Bäumen und Stauden zur Herstellung einer Nahrungsmittelsichherheit für Adivasi-Familien und zum Schutz der Umwelt und des Klimas stellt bessere Lebensbedingungen für über 200 Adivasi-Familien und ihr Umfeld dar.

Werde Projektpartner!

Mit deiner Spende können wir etwas verändern

Mandelzweig-Projekthilfe e.V.
IBAN: DE73 2019 0003 0071 5258 07
BIC: GENODEF1HH2
Hamburger Volksbank
Verwendungszweck: Aufforstung

Kosten für das Aufforstungs-Programm:
Rbs 212.750 (ca. 2.300 Euro)

Projektpartner in Indien:
AELC, Jiagabhuro (Assam)

Kooperationspartner in Deutschland:
Zentrum für Mission und Ökumene – Nordkirche Weltweit, Hamburg

Start typing and press Enter to search